When the museum first opened its doors on February 1, 1922 as the Akron Art Institute, it was located in two borrowed rooms in the basement of the public library. When the school closed in 1965, fine art became the institute's primary emphasis. The goal of forming a distinguished comprehensive collection was replaced with a more specialized focus, exhibiting and collecting art produced from 1850 to the present. This focus was, and remains, unique in the region. In October 1980 "Akron Art Institute" became "Akron Art Museum." The following year the museum moved to another renovated historic downtown structure, the 1899 old post office building it still occupies.
We are located on the corner of East Market and South High Streets in the heart of downtown Akron. The distinct Roof Cloud that hovers above the museum marks its location. Parking is available in the High Street municipal garage directly across the street from the entrance of the Akron Art Museum. Parking is $1.00 per half-hour or $6.25 per day. Parking is free for guests entering after 6 pm on weekdays and all day on Saturday and Sunday. Visit http://www.akronartmuseum.org for more information.